Lake Tahoe Spas
Updated October 1, 2026 · 11 min read

North Lake Tahoe's resort spas are the Hyatt in Incline Village, the Ritz-Carlton at Northstar and Everline at Palisades. All take day guests; Tahoe City has massage studios.
The short answer: North Lake Tahoe has three full resort spas, and all three take day guests who are not staying at the hotel. Stillwater Spa at the Hyatt Regency in Incline Village is the one on the lake. The Ritz-Carlton Spa sits on the mountain at Northstar and is the only one that sells a day pass without a treatment. The Spa at Everline in Olympic Valley, at the base of Palisades Tahoe (the old Squaw Valley), takes day visitors who book a 50-minute treatment. For a massage without the resort, Tahoe City has small independent studios, and Kings Beach and Truckee each have one or two more.
Our office is in Incline Village and we manage 41 homes on the North and West Shores, so these are the spas our guests ask us about. We checked every address, phone number, policy and price below against each spa's own website or a dated 2025–2026 report in October 2026. Where a spa's own page would not load or two sources disagreed, we say so. Spa hours shift with the ski season and the shoulder months, so call before you book around them.
North Lake Tahoe spas at a glance
| Spa | Where | Type | Day guests? | Service charge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stillwater Spa (Hyatt Regency) | Incline Village, NV | Resort spa | Yes, with a treatment; parking validated | Ask when booking |
| The Ritz-Carlton Spa | Northstar, Truckee | Resort spa | Yes; Spa Day Pass from $95, 18+ | Added to each service |
| The Spa at Everline | Olympic Valley (Palisades Tahoe) | Resort spa | Yes, with a 50-minute treatment; no day passes | 20% |
| Lighthouse Spa (lakeside) | Tahoe City | Independent day spa | Yes; reservations required | Not stated |
| Lighthouse Spa at Granlibakken | Tahoe City | Day spa inside a resort | By appointment | Not stated |
| Massage on the Lake | Tahoe City (West Shore edge) | Independent massage studio | Yes; book by phone | Not stated |
| Sage Spa | Tahoe City | Independent day spa | By appointment | Not stated |
| Well Being | Kings Beach | Massage studio and gift shop | By appointment, Wed–Sun | Not stated |
| Balance Holistic Health Spa | Truckee | Independent day spa | Yes | Not stated |
Resort spas that take day guests
The three resort spas are the answer to "lake tahoe spa resort" and "luxury spa hotel in lake tahoe." Each has locker rooms, a sauna and steam room, and a pool or hot tubs for spa guests. Each is a hotel first, so the rules for outside guests differ. Read them before you drive.
1. Stillwater Spa at the Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe (Incline Village)
Stillwater is the resort spa closest to the water. A 2024 resort announcement describes it as 20,000 square feet with 16 treatment rooms. The menu covers massage, facials and body wraps, plus less common options: flotation (sensory deprivation) sessions, a bioacoustic mat, and a cryotherapy chamber. Treatment guests get lockers, robes and slippers, a dry sauna and a eucalyptus steam room, relaxation rooms with a fireplace, and the fitness center.
- Address: 111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451 (the spa is on the lower lobby level)
- Phone: resort (775) 832-1234; the spa's direct line is listed as (775) 886-6745
- Day guests: yes. Outside guests book a treatment, and self-parking is validated for non-hotel spa guests, according to the resort's listing on Tahoe.com.
- Hours: we found two different sets of hours in current listings (daily 9 am–6 pm, and Monday–Saturday 9:30 am–5 pm), and Hyatt's own spa page would not load for us. Call to confirm.
- Pool: since March 2026 the resort sells separate day passes for its heated pool and hot tubs to visitors and locals, according to the Tahoe Daily Tribune. Book at HyattRegencyLakeTahoe.com or by phone.
Two things to know. A locals-only offer that added resort pool access to any treatment of $100 or more ran through December 31, 2025, per the Incline Village Crystal Bay Business Association, so don't count on it now. And the spa runs one-off events: this summer it held an after-hours sauna and steam night on Wednesdays at $75 a person, which ended August 12, per a July 2026 report. The resort says more are coming. Stillwater is a short drive from any of our Incline Village homes.
2. The Ritz-Carlton Spa, Lake Tahoe (Northstar)
The Ritz-Carlton is at Northstar, off Highway 267 between Kings Beach and Truckee. Its spa has 17 treatment rooms, relaxation areas with fireplaces, separate men's and women's steam rooms, dry saunas and whirlpools, a cold plunge shower and an outdoor heated lap pool. Signature treatments include a Lake Tahoe stone massage and a HydraFacial.
- Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
- Phone: (530) 562-3030
- Hours: daily, 9:30 am–5:30 pm (spa page)
- Spa Day Pass: from $95 per person for the full day, 9:30 am–5 pm, with the steam rooms, saunas, whirlpools, locker rooms, lap pool and complimentary valet parking. Ages 18 and up. Sold through the resort's day pass booking page, which in early October showed the next open date several days out.
- Booking: appointments are required, and the spa recommends booking treatments at least one week ahead. Cancel at least 24 hours out; rescheduling inside 24 hours costs $75. Arrive 30 minutes early.
- Gratuity: a service charge is added to each spa service and covers staff gratuities.
Without a day pass, the hot tub, steam room, sauna and lap pool are for guests having a treatment. This is the only North Shore resort spa that sells a facilities-only day, which makes it the pick for a long soak and sauna without booking a massage.
3. The Spa at Everline (Olympic Valley, at Palisades Tahoe)
If you searched "squaw spa" or "squaw valley day spa," this is the one. Squaw Valley ski resort became Palisades Tahoe on September 13, 2021, and the hotel at its base, the old Resort at Squaw Creek, is now Everline Resort and Spa. Its street was renamed too, from Squaw Creek Road to Resort Road. The Spa at Everline calls itself the only spa in Olympic Valley. It offers massage, body treatments and facials, and spa guests can use the heated outdoor pools, whirlpools, steam rooms, saunas and fitness center.
- Address: 400 Resort Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146
- Phone: spa (530) 584-4091; email spa@everlineresort.com
- Hours: daily 10 am–6 pm; locker rooms 7 am–8 pm. Subject to seasonal change.
- Fall closure: closed November 2–23, 2026, per the spa's page.
- Day guests: welcome with a booking of at least a 50-minute treatment. Advance reservations are required, and daily passes are not sold.
- Parking: day visitors get full parking validation with a $100 minimum purchase.
- Service charge: 20%, added to the price of each service.
- Cancellation: 24 hours' notice, or you are charged 50%; inside two hours, the full amount.
- Age: 18 and over to receive services.
- Arrival: 30 minutes early for the treatment alone, an hour early to use the pools and steam rooms first.
Olympic Valley is a short drive northwest of Tahoe City on Highway 89.
Day spas and massage in Tahoe City
Tahoe City is where to go for "tahoe city spa" and for a plain, good massage at studio prices. None of these have a pool or steam room. What you get is a treatment room, a therapist and, at two of them, a lake view.
4. Lighthouse Spa (lakeside location)
Lighthouse Spa is on the water's edge behind the Lighthouse/Safeway Center in the middle of Tahoe City, upstairs from a gym. It does massage (deep tissue, hot stone, couples), facials and body wraps.
- Address: 850 N Lake Blvd, Suite 20A, Tahoe City, CA 96145
- Phone: (530) 583-8100
- Hours: daily, 9 am–7 pm, per Visit Placer
- Booking: reservations required for all treatments
The spa's own website sat behind a verification screen when we checked, so we took these details from the county visitor bureau's listing. Call to confirm prices and the day's hours.
5. Lighthouse Spa at Granlibakken
The same company runs a second, smaller spa at Granlibakken Tahoe, the resort just south of Tahoe City. It is in the Ski Run Lodge, between the pool and the Ski Hut, with two private treatment rooms and one couples room, so it takes up to four guests at a time. You wait in the lodge lobby and a therapist walks you to the room.
- Address: 725 Granlibakken Road, Tahoe City, CA 96145
- Phone: (530) 583-8111
- Hours: 9 am–7 pm, by appointment
We could not confirm whether booking a treatment gives an outside guest use of Granlibakken's pool. Ask when you call.
6. Massage on the Lake Day Spa
A small massage studio with four treatment rooms, upstairs at the start of the West Shore. The menu is mainly massage (Swedish, deep tissue, hot stone, prenatal and more) plus custom facials.
- Address: 505 West Lake Blvd, Suite 3 (upstairs), Tahoe City, CA 96145
- Phone: (530) 583-3200
- Hours: daily 10 am–6 pm, closed some Sundays (massageonthelake.com)
- Booking: its contact page says the only way to book is to call the office. Arrive 5–10 minutes early.
7. Sage Spa, Apothecary and Shop
Sage is a small lakefront day spa with an herbal apothecary and a local gift shop attached. It offers massage, facials and energy work, and runs classes and workshops.
- Address: 600 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
- Phone: (530) 584-2659; text bookings (530) 412-0988
- Hours: by appointment only; book online through sagespatahoe.com
Kings Beach, Crystal Bay and Truckee
8. Well Being Massage & Gift Shop (Kings Beach)
A massage studio and crystal and gift shop with a lake view, in the middle of Kings Beach.
- Address: 8571 N Lake Blvd, Kings Beach, CA 96143
- Phone: (530) 546-3335
- Massage: by appointment, Wednesday to Sunday; book on wellbeingtahoe.com
- Shop hours posted for fall 2025: Wednesday–Saturday 11 am–5 pm, Sunday 11 am–4 pm, closed Monday and Tuesday. The site had not posted a 2026 schedule when we checked.
Crystal Bay
We could not confirm a spa operating in Crystal Bay itself in 2026. From our Crystal Bay home, Stillwater at the Hyatt is the nearest resort spa, a short drive east along the lake, and Well Being in Kings Beach is the nearest massage studio.
9. Balance Holistic Health Spa (Truckee)
Balance started in 2006, ran a spa in the Village at Northstar from 2008 to 2016, and reopened in Truckee in 2017. It offers massage, facials, body wraps, cupping and sound healing with singing bowls.
- Address: 9705 Highway 267, Suite 1, Truckee, CA 96161
- Phone: (530) 562-1164
- Hours: daily, 9 am–9 pm, per its contact page
- Booking: by phone, email or online
Its late hours make it the easiest evening massage on this list. It is on Highway 267 on the Truckee side of Northstar.
Med spas: a different kind of appointment
A "med spa" is a skin clinic, not a place to relax. Treatments are lasers, peels, microneedling and injectables, done by licensed medical or aesthetic staff, and most start with a consultation. They are worth knowing about if you are here for a week or more. Two we confirmed:
- The Tahoe Aesthetician, 770 Northwood Blvd #5, Incline Village; (775) 833-8880; Tuesday–Saturday 9 am–5 pm. Laser, microneedling, peels and medical-grade skin care, with a board-certified dermatologist on its team. It does not do injectables itself and refers to a partner practice. See thetahoeaesthetician.com.
- Tahoe Injectables, 10363 High Street, Suite 1, Truckee; (530) 213-3891. Botox, fillers and laser treatments, booked online or by call or text. See tahoeinjectables.com.
Spas vs. hot springs
A spa heats tap water and adds a massage. A hot spring is water that comes out of the ground hot. There are no public hot springs on Lake Tahoe: the only one on the shore feeds a private condo complex. The nearest public soaks are in Reno, Carson City and Sierraville, about 45 minutes to an hour from the North Shore. Our Lake Tahoe hot springs guide covers seven of them with 2026 fees and drive times.
Booking tips: lead times, tips and timing
- Book a week out, more for holidays. The Ritz-Carlton recommends at least a week, and Everline requires advance reservations for day guests. Christmas week, Presidents' Day weekend and summer Saturdays fill first.
- Check the service charge before you tip. Everline adds 20% and the Ritz-Carlton adds a service charge that covers gratuities. If a spa does not add one, ask at the desk what is customary.
- Arrive early at the resorts. The Ritz-Carlton and Everline both ask for 30 minutes, and Everline suggests an hour if you want the pools and steam room first.
- Mind the cancellation window. Both the Ritz-Carlton and Everline use 24 hours. A snowstorm can slow the drive, so leave extra time in winter.
- Mind the age rules. The two California resort spas are 18 and over.
- Fall and spring shoulder seasons are quieter. Fewer visitors are in town in October and November, but check for closures first: Everline is closed November 2–23, 2026.
- Ski days: book a late-afternoon massage for after the lifts close.
Our homes with a private hot tub
After a massage, the next best thing is your own hot tub under the trees. Thirteen of our homes have one. MG homes do not accept pets.
- Incline Village, NV: Skylake Serenity Retreat (5 bedrooms, sleeps 8), 90s Tahoe Time Capsule (3BR, sleeps 8), Incline Lakeside Haven (4BR, sleeps 8), Lakeview Oasis (3BR, sleeps 6), Lake View Treasure (3BR, sleeps 8), Sunlit Incline Retreat (4BR, sleeps 8) and Lunar Lakeview Haven (4BR, sleeps 8). All are a short drive from Stillwater Spa.
- Crystal Bay, NV: Livin' on the Edge (2BR, sleeps 4).
- Kings Beach and Carnelian Bay, CA: Lakeview Serenity Cottage (3BR, sleeps 6), Lakeview Grandeur (4BR, sleeps 10) and Patton's Pfeiffer Cabin (3BR, sleeps 6). These are the closest of our homes to the Ritz-Carlton at Northstar.
- Tahoe City and the West Shore, CA: Mammoth Haven Retreat in Tahoe City (4BR, sleeps 9), close to the Tahoe City studios and Everline, and Tranquil Trails Cabin in Tahoma (3BR, sleeps 6).
See them all, with dates and prices, on our Lake Tahoe cabin rentals with hot tub page, and read our hot tub etiquette notes before your first soak.

If you book on our own site instead of Airbnb, you pay less for the same house. Our nightly prices on Airbnb are set 28% higher than on our own site (17% higher on Vrbo), and every home page shows the dollar saving for your dates. The details are in booking direct vs. Airbnb at Lake Tahoe. Questions about a specific home? Call us at (530) 317-0291 or use the contact page.
Beyond the spa
For the rest of the trip, see things to do in Lake Tahoe, our guides to Incline Village in winter and Lake Tahoe in winter, and Mt. Rose vs. Diamond Peak if a ski day is what the massage is recovering from. For the towns themselves, start with North Lake Tahoe, Kings Beach and Tahoe City.
Questions
Can I use a Lake Tahoe resort spa without staying at the hotel?
Yes, at all three resort spas on the North Shore. The Spa at Everline in Olympic Valley takes non-hotel guests who book a treatment of at least 50 minutes, the Ritz-Carlton Spa at Northstar sells a Spa Day Pass from $95 per person, and Stillwater Spa at the Hyatt Regency in Incline Village books treatments for outside guests and validates their self-parking.
What is the best spa in North Lake Tahoe?
It depends on what you want. For the biggest facility with a lake-level resort around it, Stillwater Spa at the Hyatt Regency in Incline Village. For a full spa day without a treatment, the Ritz-Carlton Spa at Northstar, the only one of the three that sells a day pass. For a spa near Palisades Tahoe, the Spa at Everline in Olympic Valley. For a simple, good massage, the small studios in Tahoe City.
Is there a day spa at Palisades Tahoe (formerly Squaw Valley)?
Yes. The Spa at Everline, in the Everline Resort and Spa (formerly the Resort at Squaw Creek) at 400 Resort Road in Olympic Valley, says it is the only spa in the valley. It takes day visitors by advance reservation, does not sell day passes, and is closed November 2 to 23, 2026.
Do Lake Tahoe spas add a service charge?
Some do, and it replaces the tip. The Spa at Everline adds a 20% service charge to every service, and the Ritz-Carlton Spa adds a service charge that covers staff gratuities. Ask when you book so you do not tip twice.
How far ahead should I book a spa appointment at Lake Tahoe?
The Ritz-Carlton Spa recommends booking treatments at least one week ahead, and the Spa at Everline requires advance reservations for day visitors. Book further out for holiday weeks and ski-season weekends, and plan to arrive 30 minutes early at the resort spas.
Are there hot springs at Lake Tahoe?
Not public ones. The nearest soaks are in Reno, Carson City and Sierraville, about 45 minutes to an hour from the North Shore. Our Lake Tahoe hot springs guide covers them with fees and drive times.
How old do you have to be to use a Lake Tahoe spa?
At the two California resort spas, 18. The Spa at Everline requires guests to be 18 or over to receive services, and the Ritz-Carlton Spa's day pass and relaxation areas are for ages 18 and up.